What’s the frequency, really…..? (Part 3 [the soundtrack])

Posted: August 31, 2012 in music, philosophy
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The songs we love, songs we hate, songs we fuck to, chill with, break up to, argue about, share with friends – the soundtrack to our lives – helps to define who and where we are in life. Hunter just broke with a joy sucking, relationship trashing, life stunting psyche hate-fucking obsession with politics. In keeping with a longstanding tradition, Hunter shares the love.

Here’s your correspondent’s current soundtrack, a paean to self-affirmation; letting go of self-doubt and old pain. Standing strong. In no particular order here are Hunter’s (currently) top ten (+ one) “I’m feeling awesome, gonna be fine” tunes. With lyrics and (very brief) commentary.

1) Metallica – The Unforgiven

Uncompromising refusal to allow the shit heads who bring you down to get away with an ounce of absolution. Complete with an (unfortunate) self negating sense of giving up. Imagine that, frustration and resignation in metal.

“What I’ve felt
What I’ve known
Never shined through in what I’ve shown
Never free
Never me
So I dub thee unforgiven..”

Full lyrics here.

2) Semisonic – Who’s Stopping You?

Friends and genuine love will speak absolute truths. They don’t let you get away with excuses.

“We’re wasting our time
Watching our old reruns
Waiting for the good one that never comes

You say it beats working
On the emptiness that’s lurking inside your head
Step into the light my friend

Who’s stopping you

You said you had somebody better to become

Who’s stopping you?

[amen, brothers]

Full lyrics here

3) James Morrison – One Life

([ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/j/james_morrison/one_life.html ])

No comment on the lyrics is needed, they say it all. Dude has soul, depth, and sings without apologies…should have been born a brotha’…kinda sounds like one.

“If I knew yesterday what I know today, where would I be tomorrow
I won’t let my soul slide away, I’d do whatever it takes
Coz this time’s only borrowed

I got one life, one life, one life and I’m gonna live it
I got one life, one life, one life and I’m gonna live it right”

Full lyrics here

4) Melissa Etheridge – Fearless Love

For when you realize you are all you need – and want to share what you are.

“But I am what I am and
I am what I am afraid of
So what am I afraid of
I need a fearless love
Don’t need to fear the end
If you can’t hold me now
You will never hold me again
I want to live my life
Pursuing all my happiness
I want a fearless love
I won’t settle for anything less”

[Janice Joplin without that pesky drug overdose]

Full lyrics here

5) Eminem – Not Afraid

[- From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/e/eminem-lyrics/not-afraid-lyrics.html -]

Finished fucking up. Hauling out the trash. Had enough. Taking a stand, fixing your shit, taking no prisoners, shooting for the stars.

“Whichever comes first, for better or worse
He’s married to the game, like a fuck-you for Christmas
His gift is a curse, forget the earth, he’s got
The urge to pull his dick from the dirt and fuck the whole universe

I’m not afraid, I’m not afraid
To take a stand, to take a stand
Everybody, everybody
Come take my hand, come take my hand

We’ll walk this route together through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just lettin’ you know that you’re not alone
Holla if you feel like you’ve been down the same road.”

Full lyrics here

6) Pet Shop BoysGo West

I know, I know…so very 80s, with a so very, very gay vibe (thank you, Village People). Still…When you want to look forward to summer breezes and soft caresses of your ego there’s nothing like this.

“(Together) We will make our plan
(Together) We will fly so high
(Together) Tell all our friends goodbye
(Together) We will start like new
(Together) This is what we’ll do:
(Go west) Life is peaceful there
(Go west) in the open air
(Go west) where the skies are blue
(Go west) this is what we’re gonna do
(Together) We will love the beach
(Together) We will learn and teach
(Together) Change our pace of life
(Together) We will work and thrive”

Full lyrics here

7) Bon Jovi – Blaze of Glory

When you know you’ve done all you can and it wasn’t enough, yet have no regrets. Can’t help but feel your own power hearing those drums.

“You ask about my conscience
And I offer you my soul
You ask if I’ll grow to be a wise man
Well I ask if I’ll grow old
You ask me if I known love
And what it’s like to sing songs in the rain?
Well, I’ve seen love come
I’ve seen it shot down
I’ve seen it die in vain

Shot down in a blaze of glory
(Down)
Take me now but know the truth
But I’m going down in a blaze of glory
(Down)
Lord, I never drew first
But I drew first blood
I’m a devil’s son
Call me young gun”

Full lyrics here

8) Third Eye Blind – Jumper

When it’s time to let go and a caring voice is there to offer help without making demands.

“The angry boy, a bit too insane
Icing over a secret pain
You know you don’t belong

You’re the first to fight
You’re way too loud
You’re the flash of light on a burial shroud
I know something’s wrong

Well, everyone I know has got a reason
To say put the past away

Wish you would step back from that ledge, my friend
You could cut ties with all the lies that you’ve been living in
And if you do not want to see me again
I would understand, I would understand”

Full lyrics here

9). Foo FightersThe Pretender

A soul deep ‘fuck off’ to those who dare to say you can’t or shouldn’t

“I’m the voice inside your head you refuse to hear
I’m the face that you have to face, mirrorin’ your stare
I’m what’s left, I’m what’s right, I’m the enemy
I’m the hand that’ll take you down, bring you to your knees
So who are you? Yeah, who are you?
Yeah, who are you? Yeah, who are you?

Keep you in the dark, you know they all pretend

What if I say I’m not like the others?
What if I say I’m not just another one of your plays?
You’re the pretender
What if I say I will never surrender?”

Full lyrics here

10). Rascal Flatts – Stand

Uplifting without falling into fantasies of invincibility.

“Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend till you break
Cause it’s all you can take

On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand, yeah, then you stand

Every time you get up
And get back in the race
One more small piece of you
Starts to fall into place”

Full lyrics here

As we come to the end of the soundtrack of recovery and renewal here are just seven stanzas (including the hook) which reflect, brilliantly, the other 10 tunes:

Yellowcard – Here I Am Alive

“If I could write to the kid I was before,
I’d tell him you’ll get everything you ever wanted,
But you will still want more.
Someone’s going to tell you
Who should want to be
So you’ll forget the vision that they didn’t want to see
And when they give up, cause they will give up say
Here I am alive.

They say you don’t grow up
You just grow old,
It’s safe to say I haven’t done both
I made mistakes, I know, I know
But here I am alive.
So many people close to me cut me down,
This is supposed to be a bad luck town
I jumped, I fell, I hit the ground.
But here I am alive.

If I could write to myself
When I was on top of it all,
I’d say you’re going overboard
and when you’re falling
You’re gonna feel so small,
Someone’s gonna tell you that you deserve the worst,
They’ll say you’re never coming back
And tell you that you’re cursed.
And when they give up, cause they always give up.
Say, here I am alive.

They say you don’t grow up
You just grow old,
It’s safe to say I haven’t done both
I made mistakes, I know, I know
But here I am alive.
So many people close to me cut me down,
This is supposed to be a bad luck town
I jumped, I fell, I hit the ground.
But here I am alive.

(Alive alive alive alive alive)

And when they give up, cause they will give up
Say: Here I am alive!
When they give up, cause they always give up
Say: Here I am alive!

They say you don’t grow up
You just grow old,
It’s safe to say I haven’t done both
I made mistakes, I know, I know
But here I am alive.
So many people close to me cut me down,
This is supposed to be a bad luck town
I jumped, I fell, I hit the ground.
But here I am alive.

Here I am alive!
Here I am alive!
Here I am alive!
Here I am alive!

If I could write to the kid I was before..”

Lyrics courtesy of elyrics.com

Comments
  1. […] What’s the frequency, really…..? (Part 3 [the soundtrack]) (hunternash.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

